Student Profile: Ana María Rivera

I am 26 years old, I was born in the United States but I grew up in Bogotá, Colombia. I am an only child but I have cousins and close Friends that I consider my siblings. I graduated from high school in 2009 and started studying economics in Bogotá but I quit and ended up studying International Relations and I graduated in November 2016.

About myself I could say that I am a shy person, optimistic, good listener, a little bit messy but most of the time I always try to be organized, I don’t like speaking too much (specially in public) but I’m great at giving advice, I always try to remain calmed on stressful situations and when I can’t do it, I play tennis or go to the gym to take the pressure off. Sometimes I take longer to do things because I tend to get distracted by everything and I overanalyze things. A few years ago, I was afraid to take risks but always curious about leaving my comfort zone until I decided to do it in 2014 when I took a semester off to come to Montpellier to learn French. In that first experience abroad, I met a lot of people from other cultures, I started being more independent and realized that I could gain more by taking risks than not taking any at all. In my second experience abroad, in Paris in 2016, was more challenging because it was my first job experience and I was completely by myself in a big city (not bigger than Bogota) known for its romanticism and not-so-nice people. Here I discovered that I’m a problem solver, that a smile can take me any place I want to go and that I should not believe in stereotypes. I also realized that I should not be insecure about myself because the good things in me are more than the bad ones, and even though I may not see that, the people around me do, maybe that’s why I have really good friends and it’s easy for me to meet new people.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.